Annual Prize Distribution function
May 04, 2016

Central University of Jammu organised annual prize distribution function at TAB, Sainik colony. The event marked the end of Academic session 2015-16. The event organised by the office of the Dean Students Welfare, is a signature event of the University where prizes are distributed for all functions organised around the year. Two Mega events for which the prizes were given away included Udaan- Annual Cultural Festival and Sports meet.

The event was graced by Madam, Priya Sethi, Minister of state for Education, Technical education, Culture Tourism, Prof. Ashok Aima, Vice Chancellor, Central University of Jammu, Prof. Lokesh Verma, Academic Coordinator, Deans of various schools, Heads of  departments, officers of the University and faculty of the University.

Speaking on the occasion, Madam Priya Sethi, congratulated the students for achieving excellence in sports and cultural activities. And wished them success in their career pursuits.  Earlier in the day, she inaugurated the community college of the University. It was informed to the minister that one year diploma program in Beauty and Wellness is being offered by the college in collaboration with VLCC. The University is offering a scholarship of Rs. 1000 per month to the students pursuing the said course, besides free transport. Admission for the program is open till August 2016.

Prof. Ashok Aima gave away the prizes to the winners amidst applause and enthusiastic cheers of the students. In all there were 10 events of the cultural festival Udaan and 7 events of annual sports meet. Prof. Aima complimented the Dean Students Welfare, and his team for successful culmination of the programmes conducted throughout the year. He appreciated that the female students had outnumbered the male counterparts in bagging prizes and said that it augurs well for the central University of Jammu where Education of girl child is an important focus.

Earlier, Dr. Pavinder Singh DSW, and Prof. Lokesh Verma, Academic Coordinator, CUJ, welcomed the gathering.

Whereas Dr. Ritu Bakshi and Dr. Shweta Yadav conducted the proceedings of the event, a formal vote of thanks was proposed by Dr. Neelika Arora.