CUJ hosts first Alumni Meet
Apr 08, 2017

To celebrate the reunion of the students, Central University of Jammu organized first Alumni meet here at its Temporary Academic Block (TAB) and over 70 alumni of the university participated in colourful programme which was filled with nostalgia and ecstasy.

Prof. Ashok Aima, Vice-Chancellor, CUJ inaugurated the alumni meet and in his address he said the University don’t only produces academician and intellectuals but also inculcates moral values in students. The former students were seen reminiscing good old days and exchanging contact numbers to remain in touch even after the meet. People came from all the way from different parts and across the state to meet classmates and teachers of their Department. Alumni shared their experiences with other students and research scholar of the University.
The alumni meet was organized by the office of Dean Students Welfare (DSW), Prof. Devanand, Dean Students Welfare, gave the welcome address in the alumni meet and in his address he said that you students are real ambassador of the university. The event was coordinated by Dr. Gaurav Sehgal, Head Supply Chain Management and Assistant Dean Students Welfare, TAB and Dr. Pankaj Mehta, Assistant Dean Students Welfare, Main Campus, Bagla.

In the first alumni meet election was also held for the post of President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer. The post of president was won by Ms. Sahiba Bashir who is currently attached with the All India Radio and theatre, the post of Vice President was jointly shared by Ms. Asha Sohil & Mr. Akshay Deep Sharma, Mr. Sameer Mahajan won the post of secretary however the post of Treasurer was bagged by Mr. Deepesh Dahiya.

The Alumni meet was followed by Cultural evening which took place at Police Auditorium, Gulshan Ground where artist from Natrang had given mesmerizing performances displaying the cultural diversity of state of the Jammu & Kashmir by various folk dances. The event was graced by the presence of VC, CUJ, Sh. Balwant Thakur Director Natrang, All Deans and HOD of the University, Officers of the University, Faculty members , Alumni of the Central University of Jammu and other eminent personalities of the Jammu.

The stage was managed by Dr. Neelika Arora while the formal vote of thanks was delivered by Dr. Govind Inakhaiya.