Department of Physics and Astronomical Sciences


The Department of Physics and Astronomical Sciences, CU Jammu was established in the year 2016 with introducing a five-year Integrated Masters in Science (Physics) program with a sanctioned strength of 30 students. A panel of national experts framed the initial structure of the Int. M.Sc. Program. The aim of the program was on the emphasis to strengthening core-competence in Physics, while allowing the students to gain exposure to various other fields from sciences and humanities, thus giving a meaning to the integrated Masters title of the program.

The PhD program in Physics has been started from 2018. The research interests of the faculty members cover broad range of topics: Condensed Matter Physics, Lasers and Photonics, Nuclear Theoretical Physics, Statistical Physics, and Material Science.